Reviews

What people are saying about Brookside Villa B&B




Summary
4.9

Nice place. Walking there slightly difficult from Hadrian’s Wall Path.- Rating 4/5

Nice room, and good food.

Response

Hi thank you- sorry you had difficulty with the 5 minute walk from the Path to our door . Note to others: - The step-by-step directions on our website are very accurate (20 years experience!), so you should not have had any issues by following them.

Reviewer: Donna| Thu 23rd May 2024 | 18 hours ago


Great accommodations and good food offerings - Rating 5/5

We stayed one night at Brookside Villa as a stopover on the Hadrian’s Wall path. The double rooms had hotel quality beddings and modern bathrooms. We anticipated going out for dinner in town after checking in,however the nearby pubs had closed or were shut down. Fortunately our hostess Denise offered to prepare a charcuterie board for four and the self service honor bar had a good selection of wines and beers. The included breakfast was delicious. We would recommend this B&B for its location and good service.

Response

Thank you so much--delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewer: David H | Sat 18th May 2024 | 5 days ago


Brookside Villa - Rating 4/5

Overall satisfied with accommodation, although the evening food could have been more traditional fayre. The price of beer was excessive. Our host was very friendly and made up a breakfast early as we were leaving early would stay again.

Response

Thanks for your review.and glad you were satisfied overall - a couple of points... re. evening meal- at the moment, as noted on our website, we are offering a walkers supper to fill the gap until our village pub reopens-sorry that your choice of Soup, Sausages with Baked Jacket Potato, Crumble and Custard were not your idea of "Traditional Fayre".Loads of reviewers below love the food.A pint bottle of local ale is £4.80 - about standard, and even a little below what you'd pay inpubs around here -but you're not forced to buy it!

Reviewer: Brian W | Fri 17th May 2024 | 6 days ago


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

The room was spotless and beautifully decorated. Food was delicious. The staff and Denise couldn’t have been nicer or more helpful. They had an ingeniousboot and polestorage and a lovely patio to have a morning tea or evening wine.

Response

Thank you!I'm thinking of patenting the bootstorage solution:-)

Reviewer: Mary | Sun 12th May 2024 | 1 week ago


Brilliant! - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming, friendly, clean and cosy. Lovely dinner, breakfast and packed lunch. Provided with a second bag, so that I could use Hadrian's Haul Ltd. Great hospitality and would definitely stay again. Thank you!

Response

thanks so much for your kind review-we're pleased we could advise and help.

Reviewer: Lisa | Sat 27th Apr 2024 | 3 weeks ago


Outstanding Service - Rating 5/5

We highly recommend Brookside Villa. We stayed here for 2 nights whilst walking Hadrian's Wall in the Easter holidays. Denise & Gerry were incredible hosts and soooo knowledgeable. Everything from the wall itself to why Cumbrian lambs are tougher than Northumbrian lambs and the geology of the countryside. The accommodation, food and service were excellent and we'd like to thank Denise for organising transit for one of our rucksacks because, as it turned out, days 3 & 4 would have been a nightmare carrying all of our stuff. Looking forward to next year. Thanks for a great experience Denise & Gerry.

Response

Thank you for your kind review-we're delighted we were able to help.

Reviewer: Paul S | Mon 22nd Apr 2024 | 1 month ago


Lovely stay! Great beds, shower and food! - Rating 5/5

A gorgeous house, with lovely bedrooms, great home-cooked food, attentive service and a very useful 'shop'. Would highly recommend. Hadrian's wall around the corner.

Reviewer: Joanne| Mon 1st Apr 2024 | 1 month ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Five stars as there was nothing more that could have been done to make my start work my son doing the Wall Walk.Room comfortable and clean. Food excellent. The breakfast was generous, well cooked, quality ingredients and good friendly service. Packed lunch also good.Excellent value for money, friendly, and high quality.Highly recommended.

Reviewer: Neil T | Tue 10th Oct 2023 | 7 months ago


A night in the Hadrian’s wall- Rating 5/5

A very nice small hotel, very friendly staff.The dinner tasted very good, in the morning a rich breakfast. Satisfied all round

Reviewer: Thelen | Sun 1st Oct 2023 | 7 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Excellent in all aspects

Reviewer: Barry S | Wed 27th Sep 2023 | 7 months ago


Book Online